9th Open Meeting - 10th June 2021

9th Open Meeting - 10th June 2021

Last updated: 04 June 2021

In line with government guidance, due to the ongoing COVID-19 restrictions, the Science Council secretariat is unable to invite people to attend the open Science Council meeting ‘in person’.  This meeting will be held virtually via Microsoft Teams with minutes and papers of the open meeting published on the Science Council website.

Members of the public are invited to send in any questions they have for the Science Council on the topics under discussion at this upcoming open meeting.  Please send them to before midday on 9 June 2021.

We will try to answer your questions at the meeting, but if we are unable to do this, we’ll try to provide a written response before the next Science Council meeting.

While questions about the activities of the Science Council are welcomed, the Science Council cannot answer questions on the FSA or FSA policy in general.

Agenda and papers

Note the agenda may be subject to change at short notice.

10:00  (Item 1) Welcome and introduction (Sandy Thomas)

10:10 (Item 2) Minutes of 8th Council meeting and actions (Sandy Thomas)

10:20 (Item 3) Science Council Chair’s report (Sandy Thomas)

10:35 (Item 4) FSA Science Update (Adam Cook)

10:55 (Item 5) Rapid Evidence Review:  Critical Review of the appraisal of third-party evidence (Peter Gregory)

11:20 (Item 6) Working Group 4 (WG4) review on data usage and digital technology: Post review update from FSA (Julie Pierce)

11:35 Coffee Break


11:45 (Item 7) Chief Scientific Advisor’s update (Robin May)

12:00 (Item 8) Working Group 5: Food Hypersensitivity Review (Paul Turner)

12:25 (Item 9) Update on FSA Scientific Advisory Committees (Sandy Thomas)

12:40 (Item 10) Wrap up and close session (Sandy Thomas)

12:45 (Item 11) Questions and comments from the public (Sandy Thomas)

12:55 End of the meeting


Meeting attendees

Science Council 

  • Sandy Thomas - Council Chair 
  • John O’Brien - Council Member 
  • Paul Turner - Council Member 
  • Patrick Wolfe - Council Member 
  • Sarah O’Brien - Council Member 
  • Claire Nicholson - Council Member 
  • Peter Gregory - Council Member

Food Standards Agency  

  • Robin May - FSA Chief Scientific Adviser (CSA)
  • Emily Miles - FSA Chief Executive
  • Julie Pierce – FSA Director of Openness, Data & Digital, Wales and Science 
  • Adam Cook - Head of Science Strategy, Capability and Research 
  • Chun-Han Chan - Science Council Secretary 
  • Paul A Nunn - Science Council Secretariat Lead 
  • Autumn Pugh - CSA Private Secretary
  • Manisha Hartigan - Science Council Secretariat 
  • Ben Goodall - Research Co-ordination and Partnerships Lead