Science Council members

Science Council member biographies and registers of interest. The Science Council comprises an independent Chair, and seven independent members.

The members of the Science Council are:

Professor Sandy Thomas (Chair)

Professor Thomas is Director of the Global Panel on Agriculture and Food Systems for Nutrition, and an Honorary Professor at the Science Policy Research Unit at the University of Sussex.

Professor Laura Green

Professor Green is an epidemiologist specialising in animal health and its wider impacts. She is Head of School of Life Sciences at the University of Warwick.

Professor John O’Brien

Professor O’Brien is a senior scientist at the Nestlé Research Centre in Lausanne, Switzerland where he led the Nestlé global competence centre for Food Safety & Quality from 2009-2017 and the company’s Food Safety and Integrity Research Programme.

Professor Sarah O’Brien

Professor O’Brien is a Consultant in Public Health Medicine. She is Professor of Infection Epidemiology and Zoonoses in the Department of Public Health and Policy, University Of Liverpool and Director of the NIHR Health Protection Unit in Gastrointestinal Infections.

Mr Mark Rolfe

Mr Mark Rolfe is a member representing consumers’ and citizens’ interests. Mr Rolfe is a Chartered Trading Standards practitioner and Head of Kent Scientific Services, which provides Kent County Council’s in-house Public Analyst, toxicology and calibration laboratory.

Dr Paul Turner

Dr Turner is MRC Clinician Scientist and Clinical Senior Lecturer in Paediatric Allergy & Immunology at Imperial College London, and Clinical Associate Professor at the University of Sydney.

Professor Patrick J. Wolfe

Professor Wolfe​ holds chairs in statistics and computer science at University College London, where he specialises in the mathematical foundations of data science.

Professor Mark Woolhouse

Professor Woolhouse is an infectious disease epidemiologist and Chair of Infectious Disease Epidemiology at the University of Edinburgh.

Science Council Members' Register of Interests